Posted by: spazure | October 10, 2012

Why PSY and not Big Bang ??

No disrespect intended to PSY .. but why is it more Americans seem to recognize Gangnam Style than /anything/ Big Bang have put out in their entire career? 

You say the word k-pop and they respond GANGNAM STYLE even though the arguably greater artists (Big Bang, B2ST, Wondergirls, 2NE1, and many many others) /also/ have singles out right now.

What am I missing here?

I’m not saying PSY shouldn’t be famous.. carry on, do your thing.. I just don’t get why he seems to be getting ALL of it and the only people who recognize any of my other beloved k-pop artists are people who have, well, been following k-pop the whole time.. and that’s a much, much smaller group of Americans.

I just can’t shake the feeling that something “happened” to break PSY into American audiences, beyond just the American k-pop fans.. I just guess I missed whatever that “something” was.

And to be fair, it’s not like I’m in love with some obscure k-pop band that’s unheard of even in South Korea. If you mention Big Bang in to a woman under the age of 30, you’re likely to get the same types of responses if you mentioned, say, Justin Bieber to a 13yr old American girl. (note: just mentioning target demographics, in no way saying there aren’t fans outside of these demographics, as we all know there are)

Any ideas?

EDITED TO ADD: According to Wikipedia, PSY was #1 on iTunes pretty much the second Gangnam Style was released. I suppose it just comes down to he was publicized really, really well, topping hit charts GLOBALLY, so this isn’t just an American phenomenon. PSY has gone global. Wow. Good for him. ^^  Guess I answered my own question.

Leave a Reply

Categories

