Posted by: spazure | August 13, 2012

wilwheaton:

mattfisher:

My Sister Paid Progressive Insurance to Defend Her Killer In Court

I’ve been sending out some impertinent tweets about Progressive Insurance lately, but I haven’t explained how they pissed me off. So I will do that here as succinctly as possible. There’s a general understanding that says, “insurance companies— oh they’re awful,” but since Progressive turned their shit hose on my late sister and my parents, I’ve learned some things that really surprised me.

I’ll try to cleave to the facts. On June 19, 2010, my sister was driving in Baltimore when her car was struck by another car and she was killed. The other driver had run a red light and hit my sister as she crossed the intersection on the green light.

Read More

This is appalling. Please read the entire thing (it’ll just take a minute) and tell your friends.

Let’s get enough attention focused on this to force Progressive Insurance to do the right thing for Matt and his family.

And if you’re shopping for auto insurance, don’t give your money to this morally bankrupt company.

Former Progressive customer here. The thing that disturbs me the most about this story is the fact that I don’t question its validity in the slightest. As a former Progressive customer, this sounds par for the course with them.

Leave a Reply

Categories

